19

1997 Stanley Cup Championship

Steve Yzerman is now a member of the Hockey Hall of Fame.  Everything feels perfect.

I won’t even try to write up a review of Steve Yzerman, or tell all the stories about what moves/goals/games I’ve seen.  Suffice it to say that Yzerman was and still remains my only true sports hero.  Since I was a kid I have wanted to be just like Yzerman.  He was always humble, and yet you could visibly see his desire to win and to overcome.  The 1996-1997 Cup year remains my favorite single sports season of all time.  Being able to watch Steve Yzerman lift that cup over his head as a boy changed my perception of hockey and my love for the game for the rest of my life.  I owe so much to you Stevie, as all of us do.  Congratulations.

Many of my fellow bloggers have written some great words about Yzerman the past few days: A heartfelt post about Steve and the various things he did for Detroit fans over at Snipe Snipe, Dangle Dangle. A statistical look at Yzerman’s career over at Nightmare on Helm St. Some solid videos over at The Production Line.  Yzerman was more than we’ll ever deserve says The Triple Deke.

Finally, as some of the previous bloggers have already linked to, the best piece written on Stevie Y and what he meant to all of us Red Wing fans is over at Abel to Yzerman.  Beautiful.

One Response to “19”

  1. good stuff. I have heard you talk of the man a lot. Cheers -DP

Leave a Reply

